Vrba calls up Kovarik and Hruska for the trip to Iceland

In a squad that’s bereft of attackers and populated with four goalkeepers, the obvious response was to ask the question ‘what on earth does Milan Skoda have to do to earn his maiden international call-up?’ Thankfully, somebody did.

“I decided for [Tomas] Necid because of his previous experience with the [national] team,” Vrba responded. So to gain experience you need experience….

Besides the absence of the in-form Slavia forward there weren’t too many eyebrow raising decisions and the squad was pretty much as expected bar the exclusion of Jablonec‘s player of the season Filip Novak. Instead Pavel Vrba opted to hand Viktoria Plzen‘s Jan Kovarik an opportunity to make his mark at international level, drafting in the left-sided player to act as cover for David Limbersky at left-back and the offensive pair of Ladislav Krejci and Vaclav Pilar.

The Spartan trio of Vaclav Kadlec, Ladislav Krejci and Pavel Kaderabek all down to do double duty for their country this summer, something which could potentially have been avoided, especially given the competition for places at right-back and Krejci’s current poor run of form.

Czech Republic Squad (v Iceland)

Name Club Apps / Goals
Petr Cech Chelsea 113/0
Tomas Grigar Teplice 3 / 0
Ales Hruska Mlada Boleslav 0/0
Tomas Vaclik Basel 3/0
Theo Gebre Selassie Werder Bremen 30/1
Pavel Kaderabek Sparta Prague 7/1
Michal Kadlec Fenerbahce 60/8
David Limbersky Viktoria Plzen 31/0
Vaclav Prochazka Viktoria Plzen 9/0
Tomas Sivok Besiktas 48/4
Marek Suchy Basel 20/0
Vladimir Darida Freiburg 24/0
Borek Dockal Sparta Prague 16/5
Daniel Kolar Viktoria Plzen 23/2
Jan Kopic Jablonec 1/0
Jan Kovarik Viktoria Plzen 0/0
Ladislav Krejci Sparta Prague 13/2
Vaclav Pilar Viktoria Plzen 21/5
Jaroslav Plasil Bordeaux 93/6
Tomas Rosicky Arsenal 99/22
Lukas Vacha Sparta Prague 7/0
Vaclav Kadlec Sparta Prague 11/2
David Lafata Sparta Prague 35/8
Tomas Necid Zwolle 30/8


  • 12 June – Iceland v Czech Republic (Laugardalsvollur, Reykjavik)
Standby List:

Adam Hlousek (Stuttgart), Mario Holek (Sparta), Tomas Horava (Plzen), Filip Novak (Jablonec), Ludek Pernica (Jablonec), Martin Pospisil (Jablonec), Jakub Rada (Bohemians 1905), Frantisek Rajtoral (Plzen), Milan Skoda (Slavia Prague), Josef Sural (Slovan Liberec), Ondrej Vanek (Plzen), Ondrej Zahustel (Mlada Boleslav), Martin Zeman (Pribram)

  • Posted by Chris Boothroyd
  • On 25th May 2015